Registered charity number 509981

Rosalind Ventris 9th February 2018.

Project Description

Schumann: Adagio and Allegro
J S Bach: Fugue in C minor (from sonata in G minor, BWV1001)
Schubert: Arpeggione Sonata
Britten: Cello suite movements – solo
Brahms: Sonata in F minor

At a mere 23, Ventris showed the composure of someone twice her age. She threw off dazzling sparks from Hindemith’s electric second movement, followed that with a rich, velvety line in the slow movement, before plunging apparently nerveless into the raging torrents that follow. It was a kaleidoscopic display.

This unruffled calm continued into Schubert’s ‘Arpeggione’ sonata, a persuasive argument for her instrument over the customary cello. Her soulful opening was balanced by an intoxicating web of autumnal currents in the Hungarian-style finale.

Back to Top
Enter your Infotext or Widgets here...